Waltham Forest laptop donation drive?

Hi all. I’m new here!

I was just looking at the great list of laptop donation groups in London. I noticed there isn’t one in Waltham Forest where I live. I know of one laptop appeal at a local primary school (South Grove), but not a borough-wide group. Are there any other restarters in the area that might be interested in doing something? I have no experience in this area but would like to help in some way.

2 Likes

Hi Reuben, Welcome! (We’d love a self-intro on the pinned post too :wink:)

We are planning on setting up a “help-desk” where groups around London can place requests for help, and they can be allocated to Restarters. So far we’ve been collaborating with the organisations on this list

But I suppose that we could invite IT staff of schools to open tickets on this help-desk, too, provided we have some Restarters nearby who commit to help.

We have had very successful events in Waltham Forest in the past, and there are some Restarters living not too far away. @London - anybody there who might want to help out in Waltham Forest?

3 Likes

Hi Reuben, go to www.bbc.co.uk/makeadifference. Click on ‘donate a laptop’. London organisations are collecting unwanted laptops, for free, & taking them to Finsbury Business Centre. Laptops are refurbished for distribution to school children so they can access the 10,000 online lessons produced by 'Oak National Academy.

Welcome @Reuben_Binns! Great to hear you’re up for helping. With any luck, some local Restarters will be up for getting involved too.

@VALERIE_STEPHENSON, thanks for that and welcome! As it happens, that BBC list links right back to the list of UK organisations we’ve put together (including our list of London organisations). The idea here is to mobilise people and groups on the ground to help out too - the more we can involve people locally, the more impact we can all make :slight_smile:

Hey James & Crew…