Question: courses which teach electrical safety basics

Hi everyone!

Does anyone know of any good courses which teach electrical safety basics? Something that a person who is interested in getting into repair but is a complete beginner would benefit from going on. The course isn’t for me but I’m researching what is out there.

The course could be online or in person (ideally in London).

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

1 Like

This info should all be in the Wiki, but we don’t have a page specifically on electrical safety. It’s on my to-do list (as of 5 minutes ago!)

3 Likes

Thanks Philip the wiki page is super useful!

We’re looking for an ‘official’ course to provide an element of accreditation and assessment on top of the learning that people can show an employer.

1 Like

OK, yes, I understand. Something at the level of an accredited first aider training course. Hmmm… There are £30 PAT testing courses that give you a certificate after 10 can’t-fail multiple choice questions, and (from a quick search) there are 18 day C&G courses on domestic electrics from around £2,000, but whether there’s anything in between…

There are one or two sound engineers round here whose training must have included an electrical safety element, though probably only as one module in a much more extensive course.

Yeah exactly what I’m thinking of. Thoughts on something like this one?

Rather heavy on electrical installation, whereas what a fixer needs should be focused more on what plugs into theelectrical installation, than the electrical installaction itself. This one has a similar focus but not quite so heavy on the installation side. But if ou want something with an assessment and certificate at the end, these may not fit the bill.

1 Like