Liability insurance guidelines?

I’m a newbie here and having found the restart project I’d quite like to get going with something in my local town Crediton, near Exeter in Devon. @james has pointed me at a a proper event he’s going to run in Totnes late in November which I really appreciate, but I’m wondering if I can do something sooner. I’m not imagining anything on a large scale or difficult, just a sort of bootstrap which will hopefully find me some local collaborators.

One of my motives for being local is my wife and I have recently moved here and doing this sort of event seems like a good way of meeting people, as well as fixing stuff and hopefully sharing some expertise, of course.

I get that the events the restart project organises are covered by your liability insurance, and that as a newbie I’m not covered if I organise my own event, and if possible I should try to make use of an existing community organisation’s liability insurance, but if, hypothetically, I did want to run my own event, what are the parameters of the sort of liability insurance I would need? How much liability (how many 0s after the £)? What sorts of terms? Any particular terms to include or avoid? Any particular company/broker knows about providing this sort of insurance for a restart-like event?

I think your best bet would be talking to an insurance agent. While others can give you an idea of what their liability insurance is (which would be helpful to get a rough estimate), an agent would be able to give you a more exact answer. If you can get a liability insurance agreement from a member who has already done an event, that would would help the agent identify what you need covered.

I will ask my wife in the morning what kind of things to consider (she is an insurance agent), but since I am in the USA, I don’t know how much $ would help in a £ economy. There is also a lot of local law to consider. I know my rural community has different regulations than say New York.