EU Right to Repair Detail

Hi - is there anyone or anywhere that explains in detail the right to repair law passed recently by Eu? I’ve seen general overviews, and tried to find the detail on Eu website with no luck. In particular I’m interested to understand what a ‘professional fixer’ is in the context of restricting manuals and parts. Does this mean the public won’t have access? Surely this will be easy to navigate around?

Am new to the forum so apologies in advance if this answer exists elsewhere!

Hi Gavin,

This is a great question. My understanding is that the final text of this Ecodesign regulation isn’t in the public domain yet and is currently hovering somewhere between the EU commission and parliament. That said, I’m no expert on the intricacies of EU bureaucracy, so I could easily be wrong!

@ugo could probably add more detail & accuracy to this.

For a sense of what’s in there, EEB, ECOS and Cool Products did release a brief analysis of changes to the draft regulation (PDF) during the negotiation period (though I don’t believe this is the final text).

1 Like

Hi @Gavin_Conway,

The regulations will be effective as of 2021 across all of the EU - we don’t know yet what exactly will happen in the UK.
The reason they’re not yet public is that they’re currently going through a final scrutiny from the EU parliament, which won’t however result in any change.

As you wrote, the difference between “professional repairer” and everyone else is very problematic - it means that manufacturers won’t be required to provide (most) spare parts and all technical repair manuals to Restarters, DIY repairers. This won’t restrict third party suppliers to provide parts, but it means that free access to all repair manuals for everyone - which is what we think is needed - is still far from reality.

You’ve probably already seen it, but we’re giving some examples and our analysis of the new regulation here: