Ars Electronica's Branch Magazine Symposium on a Sustainable Internet

We appeared in the first edition of the award-winning Branch magazine, and Ars Electronica has invited them to host a symposium on a sustainable internet. One our trustees is speaking, Alexandra Deschamps-Sonsino, and a number of long-time friends and people we admire/enjoy online. The programme looks really interesting if you can join during the day next Friday. It’s in person in Linz, Austria (!) and online.

Branch Magazine Symposium

Fri Sep 10, 2021, 10:00 am - 4:30 pm

All times are given in Central European Summer Time (CEST / UTC +2).

Linz, In Kepler’s Gardens, Zirkus des Wissens

A Sustainable and Just Internet for All

This year’s theme conference explores how the internet should serve our collective liberation and ecological sustainability. Branch Magazine, the recipients of the first-ever Ars Electronica Award for Digital Humanity, offers four panels unpacking climate justice, solarpunk, sustainable digitalization, solidarity and care as well as low-carbon design and education. Chaired by Michelle Thorne, Chris Adams, Christine Lariviere, Andres Colmenares and Alexandra Deschamps-Sonsino.


10:00 – 10:15 Welcome by Ars Electronica
10:15 – 10:45 Opening Plenary
With Michelle Thorne (DE/US) and Chris Adams (DE/UK)
10:45 – 11:00 15 min Intermission
11:00 – 12:00 Panel 1: Solarpunk and Other Worlds
With Christine Lariviere (CA) and Luiza Prado (BR), Sarah Friend (CA), Jay Springett (UK)
12:00 – 12:15 15 min Intermission
12:15 – 13:00 Lunch Break
13:00 – 14:00 Panel 2: Intercitizenships and the Internet(s) of Solidarity and Care
With Andres Colmenares (CO/ES) and Eliza Anyangwe (CM/UK), Felipe Castelblanco (CO/US), Pia Mancini (IT)
14:00 – 14:15 15 min Intermission
14:15 – 15:15 Panel 3: Climate Change Education and the Internet
With Alexandra Deschamps-Sonsino (UK) and David Jennings (UK), Anshuman Bapna (IN), Louise Harling (UK)
15:15 – 15:30 15 min Intermission
15:30 – 16:30 Closing Plenary with Keynote and Wrap-Up
With Chris Adams (DE/UK), Michelle Thorne (DE/US), Christine Lariviere (CA), Alexandra Deschamps-Sonsino (UK), Andres Colmenares (CO/ES), Keynote by Renata Ávila Pinto (GT)